Wyoming Picked Sixth in 2023 Preseason Football Media Poll


CHEYENNE, Wyo. (Press Release) – The Mountain West Conference released on Wednesday its 2023 Preseason Predicted Order of Finish and Preseason All-Conference Team as selected by Mountain West media members.  Wyoming was picked to finish sixth in the 12-team Mountain West Conference and five Cowboys were named to the Preseason MW First Team led by junior linebacker Easton Gibbs, who was named the Preseason Defensive Player of the Year.  The announcement kicked off 2023 Mountain West Football Media Days being held at the Circa Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nev.

Joining Gibbs on the MW First Team were: junior defensive tackle Jordan Bertagnole, graduate offensive tackle Frank Crum, junior defensive end DeVonne Harris and junior place-kicker John Hoyland.  Wyoming’s five selections were the most of any team, followed by four selections each for Air Force, Colorado State and San Diego State.

Gibbs and Hoyland were First Team All-MW selections at the conclusion of the 2022 season in voting by MW head coaches and media.  Harris was a ‘22 Honorable Mention All-Mountain West honoree.

Gibbs becomes the first MW Preseason Defensive Player of the Year since former Cowboy safety Andrew Wingard was the preseason selection prior to both the 2017 and 2018 seasons.  The most recent Cowboy to earn any of the Preseason Player of the Year honors was former place-kicker Cooper Rothe, who was named the Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year prior to the 2019 season.

Wednesday’s Mountain West Media Day schedule will feature two football student-athletes from each Mountain West school being interviewed by MW television partners CBS Sports Network, FOX Sports and the Mountain West Network, as well as media members from around the conference.  On Thursday, all 12 head coaches from each Mountain West school will take center stage.

Wyoming is being represented by head coach Craig Bohl, junior linebacker Gibbs and graduate quarterback Andrew Peasley.


Rank    Team (First-place Votes)           Points

1.          Boise State (28)                           433

2.          Air Force (2)                                 364

3.          Fresno State (5)                           351

4.          San Diego State (1)                    338

5.          San José State                             293

6.          Wyoming                                     281

7.          Colorado State                            201

8.          Utah State                                   194

9.          UNLV (1)                                      177

10.       Hawai’i                                        102

11.       Nevada                                          92

12.       New Mexico                                  60



QB        Chevan Cordeiro **       Sr.         San José State

WR       Tory Horton*                 Sr.        Colorado State

WR       Justin Lockhart              Jr.         San José State

RB        John Lee Eldridge III        Sr.        Air Force

RB        George Holani**             Sr.        Boise State

OL        Thor Paglialong               Sr.        Air Force

OL        Cade Beresford**          Sr.        Boise State

OL        Mose Vavao                   Sr.        Fresno State

OL        Cade Bennett**             Jr.        San Diego State

OL        Frank Crum                   Sr.         Wyoming

TE        Mark Redman                  Sr.        San Diego State


DL        Payton Zdroik                  Jr.         Air Force

DL        Mohamed Kamara**      Sr.        Colorado State

DL        Devo Bridges                   Sr.        Fresno State

DL        Jordan Bertagnole         Jr.         Wyoming

DL        DeVonne Harris             Jr.         Wyoming

LB        DJ Schramm**                Sr.        Boise State

LB        Cody Moon                      Jr.         San Diego State

LB        Easton Gibbs*               Jr.         Wyoming

DB        Trey Taylor                      Sr.        Air Force

DB        Jack Howell*                   Jr.         Colorado State

DB        Cam Stone                      Sr.        Hawai’i

DB        Ike Larsen**                  So.       Utah State


P          Jack Browning*               Sr.        San Diego State

PK        John Hoyland*              Jr.         Wyoming

PR        Tory Horton                     Sr.        Colorado State

KR        Christian Washington     So.       New Mexico

Offensive Player of the Year: Chevan Cordeiro, Sr., QB, San José State

Defensive Player of the Year: Easton Gibbs, Jr., LB, Wyoming

Special Teams Player of the Year: Jack Browning, Sr., PK/P, San Diego State

* – member of the 2022 All-Mountain West first team

** – member of the 2022 All-Mountain West second team

The Wyoming Cowboys will report for fall camp on Tuesday, Aug. 1 and will begin practice on Wednesday, Aug. 2.  Wyoming will kick off the 2023 season on Saturday, Sept. 2 vs. Texas Tech in Laramie.

Fans may follow Wyoming Football on Twitter and Instagram @wyo_football, on Facebook @wyofootball and at GoWyo.com

Source link : https://www.wyomingnewsnow.tv/2023/07/20/wyoming-picked-sixth-2023-preseason-football-media-poll/?outputType=amp

Author :

Publish date : 2023-07-19 03:00:00

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the linked Source.